Teeth (2013) – Hannah Moskowitz

tumblr_nuww1deuom1twemsao1_540

Two stars

Read Sep 19 2015 – Sep 20 2015

Be careful what you believe in.

Rudy’s life is flipped upside-down when his family moves to a remote island in a last attempt to save his sick younger brother. With nothing to do but worry, Rudy sinks deeper and deeper into loneliness and lies awake at night listening to the screams of the ocean beneath his family’s rickety house.

Then he meets Diana, who makes him wonder what he even knows about love, and Teeth, who makes him question what he knows about anything. Rudy can’t remember the last time he felt so connected to someone, but being friends with Teeth is more than a little bit complicated. He soon learns that Teeth has terrible secrets. Violent secrets. Secrets that will force Rudy to choose between his own happiness and his brother’s life.


Just couldn’t dig this book. Something about gay magical mermen (or merman) and magic illness-staving Enki fish and deep dark secrets on an island. It definitely is not your usual run of the mill book. Strange.

It’s such a shame, too, because I had such high expectations for Teeth. It was on one of my favourite reviewer’s favourites list (which is why I chose to read it), and it was said to be a “gritty modern fairytale”. And I love gritty, and I love modern, but most of all I love fairytale. And I love the romantic fairytale. While Teeth was gothic it somehow missed the romance.

And by romance, I don’t mean lovey lovey, but I might as well have – I was kinda indifferent about the love arc, and that means the ending just wasn’t as heartbreaking for me as it seemed to be for others.

 I mean, was it a bad book? I honestly don’t know – I just know that I probably wouldn’t recommend this to anyone. But if you do go and read it, I hope you find the nugget of gold that is supposedly in there somewhere.

Leave a Reply

