Up From the Grave (2014) – Jeaniene Frost


Two stars

Read Oct 31 2014 – Nov 24 2014

Book 7 in Night Huntress

Lately, life has been unnaturally calm for vampires Cat Crawfield and her husband Bones. They should have known better than to relax their guard, because a shocking revelation sends them back into action to stop an all-out war…

A rogue CIA agent is involved in horrifying secret activities that threaten to raise tensions between humans and the undead to dangerous heights. Now Cat and Bones are in a race against time to save their friends from a fate worse than death… because the more secrets they unravel, the deadlier the consequences. And if they fail, their lives—and those of everyone they hold dear — will be hovering on the edge of the grave.

Up From the Grave is the seventh and final installment in the Night Huntress series, following the adventures of former half-vampire-now-full-vampire Cat and her amazingly powerful and amazingly hot vampire husband Bones. The other novels in the series, not including the spinoffs, are Halfway to the Grave, One Foot in the Grave, At Grave’s End, Destined for an Early Grave, This Side of the Grave and One Grave at a Time. And it was good time for Frost to wrap up her series (one or two books earlier than originally planned) because my oh my it gets old watching an author beat a dead horse.

I absolutely adored Halfway to the Grave. I picked it up before I was planning on snuggling into bed, to have a quick peek. And then a glance turned into a chapter, which turned into another, which turned into almost the entire book before I remembered that I actually quite like sleep and that it would be quite nice. Of course as soon as I woke up the next morning I polished off the remaining quarter. I thought Cat and Bones were perfection, the pacing was good, the storyline, while not completely original, good enough to keep me interested. Especially with the cliffhanger ending of Cat leaving Bones, getting my hands on the second book ASAP was a no-brainer.

One Foot in the Grave was excruciatingly sweet, but in a good way. Who doesn’t love that heartache reunion? Add to that some satisfying fanfiction told from Bones’ point of view, and mmmm. Mm not bad at all.

After that I’m afraid it went downhill. Not straightaway, because I was quite enamored with the series. But slowly and surely I started to forget the events in each book, the romance between them felt a bit like more of the same thing over and over, and overall a kind of mishmash blurring.

And with this I slowly fell out of love with Cat and Bones. Just like anyone looking in on a relationship, it looks a little ridiculous. Up From the Grave felt a little ridiculous. It was just absolute carnage, tearing people apart and fight fight fight plus the slightly too often appearance of soliloquies about the undying love between Cat and Bones and the undying love between Spade and Denise and the undying love between Vlad and I don’t even remember her name and you get the picture.

To top it all off, spoiler alert, Cat has a daughter! Yay! Felt kinda Twilight-y to me. Maybe because I’m not of the maternal-yearning age, or maybe because having children really doesn’t hold a significant amount of appeal to me, but I’d rather be a bad ass vampire chilling with my adorbs husband than adding a kid to the mix. Is it just a way of addressing issues so that there can be a happily-ever-after? Like, if the book didn’t end with a child, would there be people wondering “but what if they wanted children it’s not over yet”. Personally, I don’t get it. But each to their own.

Overall, Up From the Grave was an ending. I don’t like leaving series unfinished, and I’m glad I can close the book and put it back and we can leave Night Huntress there, with my fond memories of the first two books and just a vague feeling for the rest. I haven’t chased up any of the spin-offs, and at this moment in time I don’t think I will be.

Night Huntress
Halfway to the Grave (2007)
One Foot in the Grave (2008)
At Grave’s End (2008)
Destined for an Early Grave (2009)
This Side of the Grave (2011)
One Grave at a Time (2011)
Up From the Grave (2014)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s