A Brief History of Time (1988) – Stephen Hawking

tumblr_nbbsnyfxhk1twemsao1_540

Three stars

Read Sep 03 2014 – Sep 17 2014


Was there a beginning of time? Could time run backwards? Is the universe infinite or does it have boundaries? These are just some of the questions considered in an internationally acclaimed masterpiece by one of the world’s greatest thinkers. It begins by revisiting the great theories of the cosmos from Newton to Einstein, before delving into secrets which still lie at the heart of space and time, from the Big Bang to black holes, via spiral galaxies and strong theory. To this day A Brief History of Time remains a staple of the scientific canon, and its succinct and clear language continues to introduce millions to the universe and its wonders.


Have you ever read a book and it’s not bad and it’s not good, but you’ve spent a long time making your way through it and you’ve got a list of books that you want to read so you just sort of skim through the rest of it ’cause there’s potential for great reading out there and you’re stuck with that certain book.

Suffice to say, that happened to me with A Brief History of Time. It was really informative and very well explained, but after the first few chapters of switched on reading I just got well, bored. I’d been reading the same book for a week and wanted to just carry on. So I don’t really understand what the last few chapters were about – well, I have an idea of the conclusions of the chapters but not exactly the reasoning behind them.

 Maybe one day I’ll come back to it and read it with a critical eye, but for now I’m just gonna let it sit and move on to something a little more amusing.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Alannah82 says:

    I didn’t quite get bored with it, but I have not finished reading it either, because I think one has to be in the right frame of mind, to read something like this. It’s a bit of a hard read, if you’re not in the mood, but I am determined to finish it one day.

    Like

    1. Cat says:

      Yes! Unfortunately I like to read one book at a time, so when it gets too serious I get bored. I have some Neitzche and Aurelius coming up on my to-read though, so that could be fun.

      Like

      1. Alannah82 says:

        Neitzche, good luck, haha. Whenever I hear his name, I think of an 80s film called A Fish Called Wanda, where there’s this one dimwit, played by Kevin Kline, who has a habit of quoting Nietzche :p

        Like

Leave a comment